top of page

Week Three: Don't Just Teach the Subject... BE the Subject

It is clear throughout school that teachers need to be engaging in their lessons as then the students will thrive in their work. The quote clearly states that a good teacher does not just teach the content but they become apart of the content. It is someone who is not just teaching because that is their job but they are entirely invested and interested in that subject. They wonder and embody that subject so they have a strong sense of it. Clearly, it shows that a teacher cannot just be teaching these lesson but rather they have to be passionate about these subjects. In turn, the students will become more engaged in the learning and will thrive to learn.

It relates to my own understandings of curriculum and school as when I was deciding what profession to go into I looked to what I was passionate about. I have always been passionate about children, helping others and making a difference which is inevitably, a teacher. I know as a teacher I will be able to be passionate about my work and engage my students. I have seen the teachers I do not want to be and I have seen teachers I want to become. The teachers that have inspired me along the way are teachers that have made a difference and in this context, have become the subject they are teaching. Therefore, some of the content and lessons I teach to my students will depend upon my experiences and passions. I will become the subject.


Recent Posts
bottom of page