top of page

Blog #4: Donating in Multiple Ways

My goal this week was achieved as I went through my closet and got rid of many clothes that I no longer needed or wear anymore. Instead of me posting all of these clothes on the online garage sale, I donated my clothes to the salvation army. I thought this foundation was important to donate to as they give so much up for this community and are working so hard to provide clothes and necessities to others, that I figured this was a good way for me to get involved and help out. With that being said, I did post some clothes on the online garage sale, but this money was not for me as the foundation The National Voice of Indigenous Woman in Canada accepts cash donations. So I devised a plan: sell clothes online and in turn, donate that money online to this foundation. Helping out this Indigenous foundation I think is very important because they have given so much up, not willingly, so I think it is important to give back as much as I can. They lost their voices over the years and are not treated the way they should be treated. They are humans, the founders of this land, so we need to appreciate and celebrate that. Although I cannot make that big of a change, I can donate and make a small change. In my opinion, everyone can make a change, big or little, and every opportunity for change is important. This week was successful, and I am happy to say I am continuing to donate as I pledged to do.

Some weeks I feel so down because I feel I am not as part of the community as I feel I should be as a future educator but having these opportunities have begun to change my thinking. I now consider myself an engaged citizen, who is trying her best to maintain good grades, a social life, a healthy lifestyle while helping others. Its a challenge some days, but it is so worth it. So excited to continue donating and involving myself in the community!


Recent Posts
bottom of page