top of page

Blog #6: Committing to my Pledge

This past week was super successful, and I did not let excuses get in my way. I was able to donate food to the children of Strathmore, and I was also able to donate blood for the first time. It was an amazing experience. I appreciate myself that I made the effort to commit myself to my pledge even though I was at home visiting with my family. Donating at the Strathmore Youth Club was life-changing because I saw the list of children that needed this food and it shocked me. I saw names on that list that I knew, and I saw some names that I did not, but each still stuck me. I realize more every day that I need to stop assuming about people, thinking that they have the luxuries that I have. Instead, I need to think critically to myself and in a sense, have an uncomfortable conversation with myself to help myself understand that everyone is different and everyone has different values and goods in life. But nevertheless, it was a rewarding experience seeing how I was helping these children who had nothing and I am happy to say I did something different this week.

Donating blood was a scary, exciting experience. It was scary because it was a lot of blood and I am not the biggest fan of needles, but it was exciting because I was helping out people who need blood. I have the privilege of being healthy and not needing support from other people, but not all people have this. So by me donating something that I do not need in the grand scheme of things, made it that much more exciting. It was a huge success, and I am happy to say I am going to continue donating blood whenever I can. All and all, I am glad it was a successful week and that I was able to stay committed and realize problems I have within myself.


Recent Posts
bottom of page