top of page

Blog #10: My Realizations

Another week has come and gone, time is flying! This past week, I was not able to actually do anything, but rather I was thinking about what kind of citizen I am, what it means and all which has changed my vision of what an engaged citizen is. I read the article the other week, but I never went in depth into it, like we did in class. I read it, decided I was personally responsible citizen and then moved on. But after going to class on Monday, I soon realized I am more than just a personally responsible citizen. I found out I am also the justice orientated citizen as there is a meaning and reasoning behind my donations. The underlying reason to why I donate to Indigenous foundations is because they are often overlooked and tend to be forgotten about. People seem to overlook Indigenous foundations because they believe that the government is funding them for everything, but as a Treaty Person, I have realized that this is not true and I need to help out as best as I can.

This has helped me change my vision of what an engaged citizen is because I now realize, an engaged citizen, always takes it a step further. By this I mean, that instead of making simple donations, like I was doing at the start, I have started to think more about the bigger picture and how I can begin to involve others. I believe that I am more engaged because I am thinking about Indigenous foundations and the story behind them and why they need these donations. It is important that I continue donating and helping out these foundations, in hopes people will begin to do the same thing. I believe it is important to donate to Indigenous foundations as a way to reconcile for the past and begin to mend the pain. My hopes is to bring this into my classroom and we make those donations as a class. It is important to educate students young and this would be a perfect way to do so.

America Educational Research Journal. (2004). 41(2), 237-269. doi:10.18411/a-2017-023


Recent Posts
bottom of page