top of page

Thought it Was Time to Slow Cook But Slowly Changed my Mind

When hearing about a learning project, my mind immediately began racing, trying to think of what I could do. In a short amount of time, I thought I had the answer... Slow cooking. This would be perfect for my internship and career, as I could have supper cooking while I go to work and when I come home I would not have to worry about supper. However, when I thought of this, that meant that I had to live in a house with a crockpot, soon to discover that I packed mine away because I am between moving back to my home province, Alberta. So plan B here we come...

Now my next plan of action is to learn French. I know very basic French due to my schooling, but I have lost a lot of the language and would like to regain my knowledge, honestly, to be able to speak it again. So I have decided I will mainly use the app, Duolingo as this is something that is accessible anywhere I go and whenever I am bored, I can grab out my phone and practice (believe it or not, I do this often, I am loving it). I plan to practice my French for at least 30 minutes a day, which is entirely reasonable. There are two other apps that I was thinking of using as well: French Vocab and Mondly, as I do not feel I can just rely on one app if I am wanting to commit myself to this journey. I think these apps will really help me learn the language and to practice in a variety of ways.

To keep track of my progress, it will involve many screen shots of my progress on the different apps and every couple of weeks, I plan to take a video of myself with the new vocabulary I have learned in French. I will provide what I am saying in English and French, so when other people watch the journey, maybe they could learn something from me too.

On top of the apps, if I am struggling, I will refer to my friend Daniel as he is fluent in the language. I have made a goal that by the end of the class, we are going to attempt to have a conversation together in French.

To be honest, I am scared and nervous for the journey I am about to embark on because it is something new to me that I have never done before. I cannot think of another instance, where I taught myself off the internet. But all in all, I am excited to see where this takes me and see what it has in store for me. Stay tuned!


Recent Posts
bottom of page