top of page

Je Parle Français... Well Kind Of

Well, it has been a week into my learning project, and I am proud to say I am on level 10 of French. I thoroughly understand a few different skills such as phrases, food, animals, some adjectives and plurals. Duolingo provides me with an opportunity any time of day to practice both verbally and written. My goal was to spend around 20 minutes each day, and it seems that I spend more like 40 minutes every day because I am becoming addicted to learning this new language. Throughout my life, I have always thought it was neat to see people speaking more than one language, and I am hoping someday, that could be me too.

I found an article about ten reasons why it is important to learn French, which reassured me that I chose the right learning project. I feel like this will also be beneficial to me throughout my career as I could potentially teach other students the language, which provides more opportunities for my teaching.

Next week’s mission: Try the app Mondly and be able to compare the similarities and differences between the two. I am hoping I am as successful with this app, as I have been with the Duolingo. The challenge I have found with French is there are so many different ways to say one word because of our Canadian French. When I am in a time of need and not understanding, I have been turning to a YouTube channel and my friend from home. The YouTube channel, provides long in-depth sessions, guiding me through the basics.

I am really enjoying my learning project that I have chosen and feel I am learning more each day. It is something I look forward to everyday!

Attached below is a video of me and my journey, so far! It is a short clip, just giving a brief look into what I have learned. Hopefully in a few weeks, I will be able to say a few sentences that flow together. Stay tuned.


Recent Posts
bottom of page