top of page

Blog #1: My Pledge

As an engaged citizen, I think it is important to consider others and to not be selfish. My pledge, is to donate more because currently, I am either selling or throwing out items. I mainly sell things because I am greedy and want to make money, although I could survive without the extra ten dollars. Secondly, I throw things out because I have no use for that item or I over buy food. Instead of filling the land fill, I need to start donating. Things like clothes, textbooks, food and more, I could begin by donating those instead of throwing away or selling. By me donating, it will help others who need it more than me and those who cannot afford to buy those items. An engaged citizen not only cares about themselves but others and the environment as well. By not throwing items out and donating, I will be saving the environment and helping others in my community.

As mentioned above, I think it is important of me, as an engaged citizen, to donate items to various foundations, like Indigenous foundations or simply donating my time to those who need it. It seems people over look the Indigenous communities, as it is thought that everything is funded through the government and they have all they need. But I believe that everyone could use some help, and Indigenous people are known for sharing and appreciating what they have and/or given to them. Donating to these foundations, will be different for me than what I usually do, but in a good way. I have never thought of doing this before I had to think of this pledge. Immediately, this came to mind and I knew I had to get to work. "[My] leap must begin by respecting the inherent rights and title of the original caretakers of this land." Indigenous peoples do have struggles and have a lot taken from them, such as the land. This pledge will allow me to give back as it is very upsetting all that was taken from them. I know it will not replace the hurt that happened and it will not bring back all that was taken, but it is a small step to reconcile and I cannot wait to get started.

Curriculum Connections:

Examine and analyze factors that contribute to quality of life, including material and non-material factors.

a) Explain the difference between needs and wants.

c) Recognize the variation in value placed on quality of life indicators in varying locations, cultures, and time periods.

d) Investigate the indigenous concept of abundance as it relates to the western concept of wealth.

This outcome fits within my pledge because within the classroom the students will being to assess and understand the past compared to the present. They will see how the Indigenous peoples lived a much different lifestyle than we do now and how we sometimes mistake our wants for needs. We do not appreciate the earth as much as the Indigenous peoples did/do, so it is important students are understanding this concept.

Assess the implications of personal consumer choices.

a) Determine the effects on the local community of the purchasing patterns of its members (e.g., the origins of products used in daily life).

c) Assess the advantages and disadvantages of buying locally, buying fair-trade products, and buying mass-produced products.

d) Illustrate the effects of excessive consumption in personal, community, and national contexts.

f) Represent a personal change related to responsible consumption integrated into personal life.

This outcome fit with my pledge because it is discussing the effects that we, humans, have on the earth. How in todays society, it is constantly about buying and having the latest technology. Students will understand the effects this has on earth and essentially ourselves. There will always be choices, but as a teacher, I have to ensure students are making the right choices. Students will understand, through this pledge, how our personal consumption impacts ourselves, others and earth. They will investigate and learn about Indigenous peoples and how they relied on the land, rather than money.

Hypothesize about economic changes that Canada may experience in the future.

a) Using factual data and statistics, predict the future demographic make-up of Canada (e.g., growth in senior citizen population, Aboriginal population, rates of immigration, birth rates, rural depopulation).

b) Describe the effect the movement of people has on local and provincial communities.

This outcome fit with my pledge because students will be able to analyze how their lives differ from Indigenous peoples. They will see the effect they have on the earth and how their relationships to the land, are much different than from Indigenous peoples in the past and present. Students will then be able to predict the future of Canada and begin to think about what might happen if we continue doing the things we are doing, with no change.

Saskatchewan Ministry of Education. (2009). Social Studies (5-8). Retrieved September 13, 2017 https://www.curriculum.gov.sk.ca/ webapps/moe-curriculum-BBLEARN/index.jsp#

The Leap Manifesto. (n.d.). Retrieved Sept 13, 2017, from https://leapmanifesto.org/en/the-leap-manifesto/


Recent Posts
bottom of page