top of page

Blog #3: A Different Donation

As the weeks are going by, I find that I am becoming a more engaged citizen. This past week I did donate, but in a different way, I donated my time. I volunteered at Caring Hearts, where I helped grieving children cope with their hardships. The whole camp was done outside where we rode horses, rock climbed and did various activities like beading a string with a prayer for each bead or making memory boxes. The camp was a success and I learned so much. I really gave back this week and I feel really good about myself. I was able to not only connect with these children more but also with nature. I think this is important to recognize because Indigenous peoples are always connecting with the land and I was able to do that this weekend. I left no trace, as that is what a person should do with nature. It should almost seem as if you were never even there. For example, when we were in a circle talking on the ground; whatever we found on the ground around us, we left it alone and did not move it. This was a learning from ESCI 302, but I was in the process of relearning this aspect as I was in a different atmosphere. I am quite content with my learnings this past weekend and I am excited to keep on giving back! This next weeks goal is to donate food to All Nations Hope Network!


Recent Posts
bottom of page