top of page

Decolonizing The Classroom

The biggest challenges that I believe I will face when it comes to decolonizing the classroom is ensuring not to enact power and teaching single sided stories. In relation to this, I wrote a poem that I thought was fitting, trying to combat colonized classrooms, as I felt it was easier to put into words than writing a typical blog post.

Cannot Be Missed

By: Raegyn Fulmek

See me?

Yeah, me.

How could you miss me?

My whiteness is so vibrant and can catch the eye.

The privilege of my ancestors,

Past down onto me.

Through the colour of my skin–

Royal, through no decree.

I’ve known every right,

With no need to fight.

This torch that burns white

Has become ever so bright

From the moment I was born, I had the opportunity for success.

But for many, they were not given such a right.

Now I am a teacher and I must teach.

Not teach about curriculum’s single stories, this will only suppress,

But rather invite students to teach the truth of all that has been reached.

I must invite people to celebrate and be proud of their culture.

I must allow students to use their life learnings and find meaning to the content in which I teach.

Through their funds of knowledge, I know they will find the answers.

I must ensure to use my power in such a way that my students feel empowered, too.

I will not stand at the front of the room in one place

Nor will I teach subject by subject.

I will not lecture my students until they are daydreaming at their desk space,

Nor will I teach from a single perspective,

I will form relationships with my students

And I will be holistic in my teachings

This initiative will bring together our diverse class by the hour.

My classroom will be hospitable, inviting and secure.

We will all be learners

We will all be teachers

And we will all have the power.


Recent Posts
bottom of page