top of page

Coming Together With Open Minds

Treaty education within the classroom could be presented in various ways but it has come to my understanding that teachings are most effective when they are interactive and offers deep conversation. I want to ensure that Treaty Education is fluid within other subjects and not segregated as a separate subject, as I want my teachings to be holistic with any subject. I want students to know that all subjects are interdisciplinary and they are always welcome and invited to discuss various matters whether we are in math or science, for example. When students and/ or people in general do not have the opportunity for deep, meaningful discussion one cannot move forward to a different stand point, as then they are stuck to what they know is true. Through this Treaty Event this allowed me to realize how through the process of being uncomfortable, one begins to become comfortable within their own learnings and teachings. I feel I can teach treaty education in my classroom more comfortably due to my learnings throughout the course and especially within this event. By not being “perfect” and making mistakes throughout this Treaty Event, it not only benefited myself but others as well as one learns through mistakes. Overall, I think reconciliation involves people coming together with open minds, willing to learn the truth and take part in conversation, which was done throughout this Treaty Event with very valuable information and conversations.


Recent Posts
bottom of page