top of page

Is Virtual Reality Within The Classroom Beneficial?

Virtual Reality (VR) is something that has always intrigued me and I do believe it offers a wide range of possibilities. When Virtual Reality was first introduced to me, I thought it was the most fascinating thing and my friends and I would spend hours going to the beach, playing hockey and down rollercoasters, all in the comfort of my living room. VR is vastly emerging which is referred to Augmented Reality (AR) and Mixed Reality (MR) and sometimes even defined as extended reality (ER).




Let’s begin… What is VR and how is it used?

I must admit I am hesitant about bringing it into the classroom, after our breakout room discussion. I do believe that it offers vast opportunities for experiential learning, but I think there inevitably will be a divide if used in the classroom. First thing is money. VR is expensive and right now, we cannot even supply enough Chromebooks or iPads to the school, I am unsure how VR would be successful with limited supplies. Secondly, time. My students require sufficient scaffolding throughout lessons. Using VR would take up a lot of teaching time to teach them how to utilize it and how to effectively use it. Furthermore, Heller (2020) discusses serious concerns with VR such as privacy issues. Heller (2020) states, “Some researchers have found that autism in some young children can be gauged by irregular eye motion patterns. Other serious ailments, like schizophrenia, Parkinson’s disease, ADHD, and concussions can also be diagnosed though eye tracking.” Through VR, our eyes are constantly moving to relate to what we are seeing. Heller (2020) goes on to say, “Performance on a VR game is not the type of information that those who created health privacy laws may have anticipated as related to one’s medical health – and imagine if those results were to be available for purchase by third parties, like insurers.” There is huge safety concerns and privacy breaches, as Heller (2020) discussed. It is “challenging to inform users of the deeper and full implications of collection of their data, since most people do not understand how involuntary bodily indicators of emotional responses, mental state, or health can be disclosures of fundamentally private information, like truthfulness, inner feelings, and sexual arousal.” In my opinion, I cannot be on board with bringing this into the classroom with so many harmful risks.



On the flip side, I do see opportunities to use it within different subjects that would supplement their learning. It is true that VR would “make learning a fun experience, in which both engagement and motivation are affected.” Makransky et al. (2021) discussed how appropriate instructional design is essential, to ensure relevant information is being taught or else students could be cognitively overloaded with the amount of information given at once. Within a variety of subjects, I do see potential like within science, going to space or being on an airplane (something my students have never had the opportunity of). In literacy, going on an adventure and writing about what you saw, how you felt, what you did, to expand upon their writing. In Physical Education, they could participate in different sports like hockey, football or baseball. I do see the possibilities within all subjects of integrating VR.



But… is this feasible? Do these possibilities outweigh the privacy and safety concerns? My students struggle daily with living situations, is learning through immersive technologies the key priority?



Do you agree with this picture from Tech Thought's blog? What negatives do you see with using VR in the classroom? Do you believe our educational experiences are moving this way?

Recent Posts
bottom of page