top of page

Single Tasking? Never Heard of it!

Currently, I am listening to the video, reading an article, responding to a message, running the dishwasher and doing laundry, all while I am trying to write this post. It is true, "Single-tasking is the new multi-tasking.” I am not convinced I know how to single task anymore. When I get bored of a task or procrastinating, you can always find me using technology in some form whether it is checking emails, surfing the web (Facebook, Instagram, TikTok) or simply listening to music. It scares me how technology has become this form of escape and because of it, I often find I am “multi-tasking” and not always in productive ways.


I think the statement “using Facebook and texting while doing schoolwork [are] negatively associated with overall college GPA” (Computes and Education Journal) as we become fixated on our devices and constantly checking it. For myself, when I know I am doing a task where I need to be productive and have no distractions, I have to put my devices on “Do Not Disturb” so I am not getting distracted by notifications. Inevitably, when I see the notifications light up, I have to check it. Even if I tell myself I will ignore it, I begin wondering what the notification is or what the person has to say. Without a doubt, I am distracted.

For the question Is the Internet really a productivity tool or merely an endless series of distractions? I personally, believe it depends upon how it is being used and when. For example, at work and doing schoolwork internet is a productivity tool as it has different productivity suites and tools that allows me to be successful in these types of work. Within, Pelger & Pendrill (2020), they discussed the importance of technology as it promotes accessibility, collaboration, and student agency to facilitate students’ learning (p.162). With these productivity suites, like Google Classroom, technology allows us to be productive, inquire and complete tasks. Futhermore, “the tools reflect trends towards openness, participation, and collaboration, which multimodal digital landscapes enable” (Sietz & Sinkinson, 2014, p,4) enables us to see how valuable technology can be. Within the presentation this week, they discussed many different productivity suites and how they can be implemented within the classroom. This became apparent to me that technology can aid in productivity and allow us to be successful. However, when away from the work environment, I feel I can speak for myself and my students... Technology is a distraction. Whether gaming, texting, surfing the web, online shopping, etc, it creates a "squirrel effect" where you are hopping between tabs, doing house work, eating and having a conversation. I truly believe it is how and when it is being used, whether or not is a productivity tool.


“Never has it been so hard in human history, to avoid distractions and stay focused on our most important tasks, then in today’s distracted digital world. Every morning, you wake up determined to stay focused and finish the most important tasks on your ‘To Do List.’ But then, what happens? To solve this problem, you attempt to multitask between checking your emails, scrolling on social media feeds, clicking on links online, attending meetings, saying yes to people’s urgent requests, and responding to phone texts. But, what is the result of this lack of focus?" (Mayo Oshin, 2018).


I do believe that internet has created a world of 'multitaskers' who don't always accomplish as much as they could. However, being in an era of digital natives, we need to find ways to stay productive and on task, even with these distractions.


Questions to consider:

  • What are ways you stay motivated and productive, even with your phone beside you?

  • Do you find there are more distractions using technology in the classroom?

  • Is technology really as beneficial as we say it is?



Recent Posts
bottom of page