top of page

The Magic Of Quizizz

My class was all engaged... It truly is magicial.


The tool I chose this week was Quizizz and was a great success! I initially chose this tool because Kahoot has always been a hit with my students and during the presentation on Tuesday, it caught my eye immediately. I think it is a good indication of what the overall class knows and needs further teachings on.



Challenges

I did not face many challenges to set up Quizizz. I had to sign up for an account, which was free, and I was able to get started. The site is easy to navigate and utilize. The biggest challenge would have been setting aside time to create the Quizizz. While creating it, I had to come up with a variety of questions and answers. The toughest part was creating a variety of answers to the questions. Other than that, I found this assessment tool very accessible and easy to use!


Students Response

All I have to say is it was a HIT! It was a very positive response, with students asking to play another round and making it a consistent game, weekly. I asked the students for their thoughts and conducted a list of what they stated, as seen below.




Clearly we will be playing this again…


How did you use the tool for assessment?

This tool was used as formative assessment regarding our read aloud – Because of Mr Terupt. It had a variety of questions from a poll, to a multiple-choice selection, to illustrating. This was a way for me to gather if they are following along and/or are missing key concepts in regard to the book. Through this, I was able to see everyone is on track and comprehending Because of Mr Terupt.


Pros/Cons to using the tools

Pros:

- Easily accessible

- Fun/engaging

- Free

- Easy to navigate

- Formative and summative assessment tool

- Answers are coloured coded on the presentation screen and their screen, to help with non-readers.


Cons:

- Need internet (our internet can sometimes be wonky at our school)

- Need to have time to create Quizizz

- Time limit (students may feel rushed and make mistakes)

- Need to simplify answers/questions for non-readers

- Students can make mistakes due to rushing to try to be the first to answer. (Students get more points if they answer first and it is correct)


Is its purpose more formative assessment/summative assessment or both?

I think its purpose could be both, dependent on the way it is used and when. It collects data that you can look over after, which can either be used at that time as a formative or summative assessment. Whether it is used mid way through a lesson or at the end, could determine which way it can be used. I think it is important to remember though, sometimes mistakes are made due to the time limit and quickly answering due to the time limit. I do believe, it would be best used as a formative assessment due to the nature of the game. However, if needed, it could still be used as a summative assessment.


Cannot wait to continue using Quizizz, to unleash the magic...

Recent Posts
bottom of page