top of page

CJ1: Experiences From the Environment

There has been many times throughout my life that I have felt connected to the environment, but where I feel the most connected is at my parents acreage where I grew up. I feel connected anytime I am out with my animals, especially my horses. The main story that comes to mind is when I got bucked off my horse (Oh, it has happened many times). I felt like I was apart of a rodeo when this occurrence took place. After lasting on the horse for quite some time, I was eventually bucked into mud and a barb wire fence. When it happened, I can tell you it was not a fun experience at all; but now looking back I can see how much I have improved and what I have learned from this situation. I mainly felt connected to the environment because I was with many different animals that live within the environment and mostly, because I was covered in mud. I was able to see how my horse reacts to different situations and in turn, how I reacted to the situation as well. By my horse and I interacting I was able to feel connected to the environment.

Environment to me means the world itself and within the world how plants, humans and animals are able to operate and interact. I think it is important to be aware of the environment around you as one will be able to feel connected in different ways. By connecting to the environment one can educate themselves, as all education is environmental education (David Orr, Pg. 12). Nothing can happen without the environment. For example, we cannot have a history class without the hidden or null curriculum of environmental education. All in all, the environment is very important to me and I have become very educated about the environment throughout my schooling and life experiences.

Ps. I tried my best with the drawing!


Recent Posts
bottom of page